The Humble Sandwich

20140723-122527.jpg

Sandwiches never really excited me. But lately I’ve been kind of amped up about sandwiches. And today I could hardly wait to eat my lunch—because I was so excited about all my sandwich makings.

I think part of my new and growing appreciation of sandwiches is simply that I never really liked the meats they were usually built around. But now that I don’t look for a main meat ingredient, my mind is open to many more possibilities. I look in the fridge for slices of tofu, or a bean salad, or a leftover veggie burger, and start there. Or if I have some especially good garden tomatoes or cucumbers, I put those in the starring role. In fact, one of my favorite sandwiches is a good old-fashioned cucumber sandwich with Veganaise and a little salt and paper. Comfort food to me, since I used to eat those as a kid.

Today’s sandwich was good enough to go out of my way to make again. It consisted of:

Half an Arnold’s Whole Wheat Pocket Thin (not 100% sure it’s vegan! but I don’t see any egg or dairy products listed in the ingredients)
A block of Trader Joes Teriyaki Tofu, sliced
1 Tbs Veganaise
1/4 cup sliced cabbage
1/8 cup fresh corn, sliced off the cob
1 Tbs thinly sliced red onion
1 Tbs fresh basil leaves
Half a small garden fresh tomato
A splash of Cholula

Spread the Veganaise on both insides of the pocket. Fill with the tofu and veggies, then splash on some Cholula to taste. Delicious!

One thought on “The Humble Sandwich

Leave a Reply

